

# Litigation & Lessons: Legends & Luke Soules Presentations

## **TUESDAY, JUNE 23, 2020**

11:00	Welcome and Induction of Rusty Hardin as Texas Legal Legend Jennifer Doan, Litigation Section Chair Geoff Gannaway, Legends Committee Chair J. Wesley Christian, Immediate Past Chair of Litigation Section
11:25	Best Practices for Effective Advocacy, Ethics, and Professionalism: (.75 hr. CLE) A Conversation with Rusty Hardin
12:15	Luke Soules Award Presentation to Harper Estes Amy Prueger, Legends Committee Co-Chair
12:25	What You Mean to the Rule of Law (.5 hr CLE) Harper Estes
1:00	Litigation Section Meeting
1:15	Lessons from Texas Legal Legends: How to Manage the Push-Pull of Zealous Advocacy as an Officer of the Court (1 hr. CLE) Victor Flores, Moderator, TYLA President Hon. Royal Furgeson Hon. Ron White Harriet Miers Hon. Ruby Sondock
2:15	Closing Remarks Jennifer Doan, Litigation Section Chair

**Program approved for 2.25 hours of CLE and 1.75 hours of Ethics** 



Litigation Section Annual Meeting State Bar of Texas Annual Meeting June 23, 2020 – 1:00 p.m. Zoom

## AGENDA

- 1. Welcome and Call to order Jennifer Doan, Chair
- 2. Approval of Minutes of June 13, 2019 Section Meeting Geoff Gannaway, Secretary
- 3. Treasurer's Report J. Paul Manning, Treasurer
- 4. Chair's Report Jennifer Doan, Chair

Brief overview of 2019 - 2020 Litigation Section

5. Nominations Report - Cade Browning, Vice-Chair

Executive Secretary: Hon. Rebecca Simmons

New Members 2020 – 23: Eugene Aycock "Chip" Brooker, Jr. Andrew Payne

Second Term 2020 – 23: Robin Darr Alissa Gomez Andrew L. "Andy" Kerr

Emeritus Nominations 2020 – 21: Craig Enoch Carlos Cardenas J. Wesley Christian

6. Announcement of 2020 - 21 Executive Slate - Jennifer Doan, Chair

Chair: Xavier Rodriguez Chair-Elect: Cade Browning Vice Chair: J. Paul Manning Treasurer: Geoff Gannaway Secretary: Hon. Rebecca Simmons Immediate Past Chair: Jennifer Doan

- 7. Old Business
- 8. New Business
- 9. Adjourn



Empowering advocates, promoting justice, and preserving the rule of law.



#### JW Marriott Hotel Austin, Texas Minutes of June 13, 2019 General Membership Meeting

#### Council Members Present:

James Wes Christian, Chair Jennifer Doan, Chair Elect Hon. Xavier Rodriguez, Vice Chair Cade Browning, Treasurer J. Paul Manning, Secretary Hon. Robin Darr Jason Fulton Geoff Gannaway Hon. Rebecca Simmons Christine Stetson Slater Elza Amy Saberian Sofia Ramon Rebecca Vela

Pat Long Weaver\* Hon. Craig Enoch\* Carlos Cardenas\* \*Emeritus Non-Voting

#### Section Members Present:

Christy Amuny (Beaumont) Herbert S. Hill (San Antonio) Hon. Royal Furgeson (Dallas) Raymond Baeza (El Paso) Hon. Chari Kelly (Austin) John Browning (Dallas) Bryan Haynes (Dallas) Bryan Haynes (Dallas) Karen Precella (Ft. Worth) Hayes Fuller (Waco) Andy Kerr (San Antonio) Amy Stewart (Dallas)

- I. Call to order Wes Christian
- II. Chair Wes Christian gave a report on the Section's activities throughout the year in accordance with the Section's Mission Statement.
- III. Quorum recognized The Chair acknowledged a quorum was present.
- IV. Minutes of the June 2018 General Membership. Motion made to approve the minutes and seconded. **Motion carried.**
- V. Treasurer's Report Treasurer Cade Browning reported on the end of year financials for the Section and increase in dues collections.
- VI. Motion to remove Cade Browning from financial accounts and add J. Paul Manning and Geoff Gannaway to the account signatories. **Motion passed. A resolution was executed.**
- VII. Wes Christian gave a report on membership with approximately 8,100 members and an increase in sustaining members.
- VIII. Nominations Committee Report. Vice-Chair and Nominations Chair Xavier Rodriguez reported:
  - The Nominations Committee nominated Andrew Kerr (San Antonio) to fill the vacancy that expires for 2020 term. **Motion passed.**
  - The Nominations Committee nominated Hon. Chari Kelly (Austin) and Karen Prescella (Ft. Worth) to fill the vacancies that expire for the 2022 Term. **Motion passed.**
  - The Nominations Committee nominated Jason Fulton, Amy Saberian, and Rebecca Vela for a 2<sup>nd</sup> three year term on the council. **Motion passed.**
  - The Nominations Committee also reported that Geoff Gannaway (Houston) was nominated to serve as Secretary for

the 2019-2020 term and submitted the following slate of officers:

- Chair: Jennifer Doan
- Chair-Elect: Hon. Xavier Rodriguez
- Vice Chair: Cade Browning
- Treasurer: J. Paul Manning
- Secretary: Geoff Gannaway
- Immediate Past-Chair: Wes Christian Motion passed.
- The Nominations Committee submitted Chair Emeritus status be conferred on Carlos Cardenas. **Motion passed.**
- The Nominations Committee submitted Hayes Fuller serve an additional one-year term as Chair of the Long-Term Planning Committee. **Motion passed.**
- IX. Questions were asked for by the audience.
  - X. Adjournment.